Leadership Awards

What are the ORION Leadership Awards?

At ORION, innovation comes first. The ORION Leadership Awards celebrate outstanding achievement and innovation using ORION’s digital tools and expertise. Whether it’s ground-breaking researchers sharing huge amounts of data or students in a classroom using technology to learn, it’s all about making Ontario — and the world — a better place. We honour this innovation and dedication annually with the ORION Leadership Awards.

Nominations now closed.

Who is eligible?

  • Innovators who are part of a connected institution on ORION’s high-speed research and education network
  • Individuals who have demonstrated leadership with outcomes that serve to advance the research, education and/or innovation landscape in Ontario
  • Individuals who have made a positive impact on their classroom, institution, community, and/or project through an innovative solution

Award categories:

  • Kindergarten – Grade 12 Education
  • Higher Education – University, college, research and applied research
  • Innovation – Healthcare, intelligent communities, libraries, and other sectors

Submissions criteria:

  • How well the initiative advanced Ontario research, education and/or innovation landscape under the nominee’s leadership
  • How well the initiative leveraged ORION’s network and/or cloud services in an innovative way
  • How much of an impact the initiative made

To be alerted for the 2020 Leadership Awards nominations, please register for updates.

Previous winners

2019: Peter Singh (K-12), David Cullum, Scott Briggs, Luc Roy, John Levay, Alastair MacLeod, Jennifer Doyle, Denise Ernst, Lisa Grothier, and Nela Petkovic (Higher Ed), Bob Campbell (Innovation)
2018: Joanne Borges (K-12), Carolyn McGregor (Higher Ed), John Ferri (Innovation)
2017: Anita Simpson (K-12), Stéphane Lévesque (Higher Ed), Randy McIntosh (Innovation)
2016: Éric Minoli (K-12), Alla Reznik (Higher Ed), Brock Dubbels (Innovation)
: Dino Miele (K-12), Alan Darnell (Higher Education), Allison Crawford (Innovation)
2014: Laurie Clement (K-12), Virginia Roy (Higher Ed), Dr. Narinder Paul (Innovation)
2013: Jack McMaster (K-12), Dr. Paul Corkum (Higher Ed), Dr. Berge Minassian (E-infrastructure)
2012: Marshall Zhang (K-12), John Helliker (Higher Ed), Dr. Shana Kelley (E-infrastructure)

How do I nominate someone or myself?

Nominations require the following information:

  • Describe how the nominee has demonstrated leadership with outcomes that serve to advance the Ontario research, education and/or innovation landscape by leveraging the ORION network or cloud services
  • Summarize the impact of this initiative by including the results, findings, benefits, and/or advancement to research, education or innovation
  • Explain why you think this nominee is a leader within their category